top of page

'Burgh to Budapest

(Disclosure: This is my first attempt at personal blogging, so be prepared for the learning curve.)

The beginning of my expected journey had an unexpected delay thanks to the airport God forgot—Newark… Thankfully, an angel dressed in a United uniform saved the day with a smile on her face. Those of you who travel often know that friendly and efficient customer service when checking-in is a rarity. She even routed me away from Newark into Washington-Dulles.

The change in flights allowed me an extra hour and some to purge more of my suitcase in a car dealership parking lot while my parents signed paperwork for a new vehicle. Returning to the airport, everything went smoothly with the exception of my carry-on tipping over onto the knee of a German man. During this, he screamed “Jesus!” followed by a slur of German including fick and arschloch. Seeing the horror on my face and hearing my perfuse apologies, his wife was very sympathetic. Not embarrassed the slightest by his outburst, the man grumbled in English “I don’t pain” and limped away. That’s it, folks, my suitcase may have crippled an innocent German when I wasn’t even in Germany yet.

The flight from Washington-Dulles was fair. I hate…Hate…HATE aisle seats. To the woman who had to pee every 10 minutes and insisted on pushing everyone’s chair as you walked by, fick dich! Overall, the 7-hour plus flight to Munich felt rather short—a possible sign that I may be becoming a world traveler. I watched “A Theory of Everything,” which I personally thought was amazing for its quality and portrayal of Stephen Hawking and Jane Wilde’s relationship.

Unlike the last time I flew into Munich that required a mile –long sprint from one end of the airport to the other, I was able to relax for an hour. Did you know that, in Munich, Lufthansa has complementary espresso machines?!? I almost cried with joy. The hour flew by as I talked with two older gents that were friends from the UK—one from Southampton and the other from East London that now live together in Blackwood Forest. These two really moved me. The gentleman from Southampton is terminally ill and is traveling with his friend to Budapest to enjoy life. When he told me of his illnesses, he said, “I don’t want sympathy.” His attitude towards his fate felt similarly to control. Although he cannot control the deterioration of his body, he controls the quality of the days he lives. Together, all three of us flew to Budapest with me sleeping most of the time and them teasing me about it.

After saying goodbye to the friends I made on the plane, I smoothly navigated my way to my ride, which was arranged by my hostel Adagio 1.0. Together we talked about our travels and family. It was interesting to hear her discontent about Hungary and its economic insecurity. My conversation with my driver reminded me that even though I love the city and it’s beauty, it doesn’t mean that life is perfect for Hungarians. On a positive side, she definitely fueled my desire to travel in German, which I have never done outside the airports.

When in Budapest, here is a traveler’s tip: always book a ride from the airport with your hostel/hotel and when you do stick to the price that hostel/hotel says it should be. Although a immensely enjoyed my trip from the airport, I was charged 1500HUF more than I should have been. I do not have too much remorse because I believe in tipping, which is also around 20% for good service, so the extra charge I saw as a tip.

If you are ever in Budapest, I strongly recommend the Adagio Hostel 1.0. These next couple days will be my third time staying here. The rooms are large, clean, and bright and the staff is kind and helpful. Hopefully more stories and photos to come! Jó éjszakát.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Black Square
  • Twitter Black Square
  • Google+ Black Square
bottom of page